The Foundation

The Fondazione Donnaregina per le arti contemporanee was set up in 2004 with the goal of promoting art and culture across the Campania region.

The Fondazione Donnaregina per le arti contemporanee (“Donnaregina Foundation for contemporary art”) was set up on November 22, 2004 by the Campania Regional Government with the goal of “instituting, promoting and managing, museums, art and culture centers in the Campania region, acquiring either temporarily or permanently, by means of contracts and/or agreements with public or private bodies, artists or collectors, works of contemporary art to be exhibited either permanently or temporarily in its museums or themed exhibitions; to carry out cultural activities through the organization of meetings, internships and seminars on art, literature, cinema, graphic art, design, photography, architecture and every other form of modern and contemporary artistic expression”.

At first structured in a totally public way, in 2011 the Campania Regional Government adopted a deep-seated statute reform, which, in short, changed the figure of the president, a role that was initially reserved for the President of the Regional Council or a Member of the Regional Council, to a position that is now filled by a person with “major legal, economic and managerial experience”. Other people can also become members of the Board of Administration; the number of members on the Scientific Committee has gone up from three to five; the Director can now be chosen “by public competition carried out according to national and community principles with public accountability”, and his term of office is five years.


Francesco Clemente, Ave Ovo, 2005. Courtesy Fondazione Donnaregina per le arti contemporanee, Napoli. Photo © Amedeo Benestante.

President of the foundation


Angela Tecce / 2021 — in charge



Members of the board

Angela Tecce / 2021 — in charge


Maria Letizia Magaldi / 2021 — in carica


Achille Bonito Oliva / 2021 — in charge


Members of the scientific commettee for art and culture


Marie-Laure Bernadac / 2021 – in charge


Angela Vettese / 2021 – in charge


Stefano Boeri / 2021 – in charge


Laura Mattioli / 2021 – in charge


Carlos Basualdo / 2021 – in charge



Eva Fabbris / 2023 – in charge